Andhra Pradesh: Polling underway in MPTC, ZPTC elections

Polling is underway in 515 Zilla Parishad Territorial constituencies and seven,220 Mandal Parishad Territorial constituencies of Andhra Pradesh. Polling started at 7 am this morning and can proceed until 5 pm. As of eleven am, 21.65 % vote casting was once recorded.

The elections are being held following an order of a department bench of the AP High Court comprising Chief Justice Arup Kumar Goswami and Justice C Praveen Kumar on Wednesday that put aside the one pass judgement on order and allowed the State Election Commission to habits elections to MPTCs and ZPTCs as scheduled on April 8.

However, the courtroom directed the SEC to not soak up counting and declaration of effects pending disposal of the petitions. An afternoon sooner than on Tuesday, the one pass judgement on bench of Justice U Durga Prasad Rao had stayed the election notification mentioning that the fashion code of habits was once now not enforced as directed through the Supreme Court. Terming the elections ‘unlawful’, the opposition Telugu Desam Party had introduced a boycott of the polls.

The State Election Commission has classified 6,314 of the whole 27,751 polling stations as hyper-sensitive, and six,492 as touchy. As many as 247 polling stations are extremist-affected. Arrangements for webcasting had been made in 3,538 polling stations, in step with officers.

Source link

Leave a Comment