JNU and Pune University vice-chancellors among frontrunners to become next UGC chairman

Jawaharlal Nehru University’s Vice-Chancellor Prof M Jagadesh Kumar is without doubt one of the 3 names picked via a search-and-selection committee to change into the following University Grants Commission (UGC) chairman.

The two different frontrunners for the important thing submit are Pune University Vice-Chancellor Prof Nitin R Karmalkar and Director of Inter-University Accelerator Centre (IUAC) Prof Avinash Chandra Pandey, assets stated.

The submit of the UGC chairman fell vacant on December 7 after Prof D P Singh, who had taken price in 2018, resigned upon turning 65. The submit of the vice-chairman of the upper training regulator may be vacant.

Higher Education Secretary Ok Sanjay Murthy is these days discharging tasks because the chairman of UGC. The seek for a brand new vice-chairman may be underway.

The shortlisting of Prof Kumar’s identify assumes importance as he’s additionally a number of the frontrunners to change into the following director of IIT Delhi. His five-year tenure as JNU’s V-C had ended on January 26, however the Ministry of Education allowed him to proceed retaining the submit until a successor was once picked.

While Prof Kumar’s instructional credentials are sturdy, with him being a outstanding identify within the box of digital engineering, his tenure as JNU V-C has been marred via controversies and campus unrest.

Prof Karmalkar specialises within the box of analysis on igneous petrology, a very powerful department of geological sciences. He was once appointed as Pune University’s V-C in May 2017. Prof Pandey, who was once the V-C of Bundelkhand University between 2012-2015, is credited with the status quo of the Nanotechnology Application Centre in Allahabad University.

Source link

Leave a Comment